When the going gets tough, the tough get going. That’s what I always heard. Sounds like a great plan. But it really isn’t all that helpful if you think about it. Just where do the tough get going to?

I tried going to a lot of things. My go to places were isolation, bad relationships, loneliness, despair and depression. No matter how tough I might have tried to make myself, I never really went anywhere.

My go to feelings were anger and hate and fear. No amount of toughness got me any closer to getting out of the struggle of living.

All I am really saying, is it isn’t enough to just get going, tough or not. There has to be a place to go. Having a place to go is helpful even if I am a wimp about getting there.

Hebrews 4:16 So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

I have never been so tough that I didn’t need help. Fortunately, here is a place that I can go. I can go there if I feel tough, or broken, or worn-down or just plain helpless. When the going gets tough, I can go to my Father that loves and cares for me and spills his endless mercy and grace all over me and my entire life just when I need it most, even when I don’t realize just how much I am in need.

Some people, namely me, have a hard time admitting the need for help, even a need for God. But my need is a good thing that drives me close to his side where I can live sheltered during the storm. I have to be wary of getting the feeling that I am becoming more self-sufficient over time. I have to continue to know that my need for him is the same as it has ever been.

At some point today, things are likely to be tough and I will react in some way. This morning I pray that I react by heading straight to the place of mercy, grace and help. God will take me any place else I need to go from there.

9 thoughts on “Where Do the Tough Go?

  1. I am the process of reading some of Friedrich Nietzsche’s works. Why? Curiosity. If we want to understand history, we have to understand the ideas of the men who inspired others. I can only imagine how the man would have reacted to this post, I don’t think he would have understood it. Sad. The man had no place to go. Thus, his words were full of demanding rage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

