Years ago, when my kids were little, I often lamented the fact that there was no handbook that successfully guided a man or woman through the difficulties of having kids.  As the kids grew older my lamenting grew more frequent.  A lot of the time I had no clue what I was doing.

Of course, my kids grew up looking at me as if I did know what I was doing until they got old enough to have kids and now realize that no one knows what they are doing, even if they think they do.

I’ve wanted handouts and cheat sheets to help me through difficult times.  Especially when I recognized the fact that I was clueless and desperately needed help.

David (that fellow that killed the giant) became king of Israel.  There wasn’t a lot of precedence before him.  Reading his prayers in Psalms tells me that very often, he didn’t know what he was doing.  Often he was at the end of his rope, frustrated and afraid.

Psalm 5:8 Lead me in the right path, O Lord,
or my enemies will conquer me.
Make your way plain for me to follow.

David had enemies.  He literally had people out there in the world that wanted him dead. I think that I may have had some people really angry with me before, but not anyone that really wants to kill me unless you include ISIS or the guy with the bad haircut over in North Korea.  But I have enemies.  Depression, anger, fear, addiction all try to conquer me every single day.

David knew the answers didn’t lie in a handbook, they relied on the Word of God and the hands of God leading him.

I think life is supposed to be confusing and unpredictable.  Living on this planet, in this phase of life, I need to be facing big scary dragons and learning to walk right paths so they do not conquer me.

Man was built for challenges.  Some people take that and use it for themselves.  Let me tell you, I accepted some pretty stupid challenges.  I wonder why I refuse so often to accept God’s challenges, challenges that make me more than a conqueror and less of a wimp that just tries to avoid getting conquered.

Today, I want to reach out and grab God’s hand and say, “Take me wherever you want!  I trust you.”

 

Leave a Reply

