One of the influences on me that got me interested in writing was the band ‘Pink Floyd’. I found the lyrics in the songs on the ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ album intriguing and they sparked something in me to begin to write poetry. I don’t write a lot of poetry currently but from time to time I will decide to write in tempo and rhyme. My favorite lyrics by this band are in the song ‘Time’.

Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
Fritter and waste the hours in an off-hand way
Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
Waiting for someone or something to show you the way

Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain
You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun

And you run and you run to catch up with the sun but it’s sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

The world today is filled with so many time-saving devices. We don’t have to spend as much time getting a hot meal with microwaves and drive-thrus. We can communicate with everyone one we know in seconds with our smart phones. We can find information about anything, any time, anywhere with a few quick pecks on the same phone. Technology has saved us hours and hours of time in each day. Yet I still have no time. I find myself running out of time each and every day. I run and I run to catch up with the sun but it’s sinking, racing around to come up behind me again.

Ephesians 5:15 Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. (ESV)

I think that it is important for me to look at how I fill my time. I need to walk as the wise. I need to make the best use of my time.

2 Corinthians 6:1 As God’s partners, we beg you not to accept this marvelous gift of God’s kindness and then ignore it. 2 For God says, “At just the right time, I heard you. On the day of salvation, I helped you.” Indeed, the “right time” is now. Today is the day of salvation.

I cannot become so busy that I ignore the marvelous gift of God’s kindness. How can I place more importance on all the things that fill my days to the brim and ignore what God has done for me? There is fierce competition for my time. Am I spending it doing what God desires or what I desire? Am I even spending it doing what Satan desires? I need to take some time and look at how I am spending my time.

When we get to a place that money becomes an issue at my house, my wife and I (which actually means my wife because me and money don’t mix well) sit down and take a look at where the money is going and make a budget. Once the money is being managed and not just tossed around like it grows on trees it seems like there is more of it. The same thing goes for my time. I get up in the morning and spend about an hour reading God’s Word and writing. I do this first thing, I make this time be His time and it doesn’t seem to eat into my day at all. For years I had no time at all for this kind of thing. It turns out that was only true because I didn’t manage my time wisely desiring to walk as the wise. I preferred to walk as a fool and just spend time as it came with no regard for what I was missing out on.

Ephesians 1:9 God has now revealed to us his mysterious plan regarding Christ, a plan to fulfill his own good pleasure.10 And this is the plan: At the right time he will bring everything together under the authority of Christ—everything in heaven and on earth.

God is managing his time. If I manage mine in a way that I walk more wisely, my plans and God’s plans will surely clash less often. His timing will become my timing and my faith will grow.

God, teach me to manage my time. Show me what is important and what is foolishness. Give me a sense of urgency to do your work and to see how you would have me spend my time. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Time

  1. Great post, Mike. I question myself about time spent writing, not so much the hours I spend writing but the subject matter. I can go a rant about politics and social issues using up hours of precious time. Then I wonder, “Is this what my HP wants?” A blogger fiend remarked, “You are preaching to the choir.” She’s right. Those who could possibly be challenged by my rant are not the ones reading my stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

