News Flash:

Romans 8:12 Therefore, dear brothers and sisters,you have no obligation to do what your sinful nature urges you to do.

I have a choice. I am not bound to do what I know is wrong. If I do the wrong thing it is by choice once I am a child of God. Of course, my skill in making choices is not always the best. I often choose to make choices based on my emotions or my perception of the world around me. The trouble is that my emotions often lie and the world around me is carefully presented to me through the media. I’m often not on the scene of the events that affect me to gather the truth but I get some version of the truth from the mouths of others.

I have to take what others say with a grain of salt and find my truth in God alone. I also can’t base my choices upon my imagination. It is easy for someone like me to imagine all sorts of scenarios that could play out and latch on to whatever one my mind decides is the most likely. This turns my imaginary life into a some weird sort of false reality and decisions based on this kind of stuff turn out to be just plain silly. I’ve done it nonetheless.

This week hasn’t been a really good one for me. I have felt the need for encouragement from God’s Word every single morning. On this morning, I am tired, I’m sore and my brain has gotten bored with the routines of work. There are a lot of distractions mentally, emotionally and physically that could cause me to decide that this morning I should just sleep in and get some rest.

The truth is that these things are nothing. It does me no good to baby myself because I don’t feel so great and allow my sinful nature to seek relief outside of going to God first! I need to hear what God has to say about how this day is going to go and start from that point, not try to fit God in later when I feel a little better.

Romans 8:14 For all who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God.

How can I claim to be a child of God unless I am making a conscious effort to be led by the Spirit? For me, I have learned that being led means that I focus on the leader before I take a single step. By the end of the day I still find myself wandering around aimlessly because I got sidetracked by my thoughts or my habits or a shiny penny. I think I need to find ways to refocus more effectively throughout the day so that at the end of the day I am right where I should be and not off the road in the weeds and waking up the next morning covered with poison ivy or chiggers.

God wants to lead me into better choices to have a better life in spite of all the lies, exaggerations and imaginations of the world around me. The facts lie with him and he will never fail me. I am not obligated to allow the world to sway my beliefs and my opinions.

Am I living in fear? Do I turn my fear into hate for others? That doesn’t come from God. I need to recognize this and refocus on the truth. God is with me and he will take care of me. The deteriorating circumstances around me cannot change that. If I choose to cling to God in the midst of the turmoil of the world, he will still be standing at the end of it all. He will keep his promises and I am eternally his.

Romans 8:15 So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you received God’s Spirit when he adopted you as his own children. Now we call him, “Abba, Father.”

I need to do more than start the day on the right foot. I need to make choices that cause me to finish the day on the right foot.

Psalms 136:1 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good! His faithful love endures forever. 2 Give thanks to the God of gods. His faithful love endures forever. 3 Give thanks to the Lord of lords. His faithful love endures forever.

Leave a Reply

