Here, in this country, in these days there is a great wave of philosophy that says the Bible doesn’t mean what it says and that we as Christians should just tone it down. I have been asked to not post so much ‘Jesus stuff’ on Facebook a time or two. I have had friends mysteriously disappear.

For many, many decades of my life, I toned it down. I didn’t speak about what God did for me and I didn’t reach out to those that needed help and they didn’t reach out to me. After years of not speaking about what God did for me, I didn’t even see his hand in my life anymore. I became blind to him and after a while, I did whatever I wanted to do and didn’t give a hoot about what God wanted. I became isolated from other people emotionally and they all became objects that either pleased me or aggravated me.

I went far beyond complacent. I was belligerent and insatiable.

If I am to truly be a follower of Christ, I must turn it up. I’m not talking about being the guy that stands on the street corner yelling, “The end it is near!” I’m talking about living this faith and giving glory to God. Instead of giving in to the notion that I should be serving some generic god that finds people all sorts of ways other than through Christ, I need to be clear that I serve God and that my salvation is through the blood of The Lamb!

2 Peter 2:1 But there were also false prophets in Israel, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will cleverly teach destructive heresies and even deny the Master who bought them. In this way, they will bring sudden destruction on themselves. 2 Many will follow their evil teaching and shameful immorality. And because of these teachers, the way of truth will be slandered.

As Christians, we don’t have to go on some great offensive to rant and rave against the evils of these false teachers. We merely have to live God’s Word. I have gotten so angry with some of the slander against God and his teachings that I have thought that I have to go after the slanderers and give them a taste of their own medicine. Unfortunately, giving the world a taste of their own medicine means being disobedient to God. I am to give them a taste of God’s medicine.

No amount of dissertation, debate or argument will sway the opinion of people concerning God and how much they need him.

John 13:35 “Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.”

I think the time for being an angry, sulking Christian is over. It is time to put on the full armor of Christ and do the right thing according to what supernatural God says and stop defending him the way my natural being tells me to.

God has great plans. I need to get up and be a part of them. I don’t need to be intimidated by the whims of our society and pressure to back off and keep quiet but I need to make sure what is coming out of my mouth and off of my keyboard demonstrates that I am a disciple and not some rogue mercenary.

It seems that many people are afraid to speak out about what God has done for them and how much they truly need God in their lives because of our politically correct society. It also seems there is a push-back from Christians that isn’t very Christ-like at times.

I have to be cognizant of the fact that God’s grace is enough and there is nothing else that I can add to make it greater. I need to continue to be obedient even when I desire to take up the fight as Peter did when he lopped the ear off of one of the men that came to take Jesus. I need to continue to be obedient even when I am intimidated and pressured to do nothing.

2 Peter 2:8 Yes, Lot was a righteous man who was tormented in his soul by the wickedness he saw and heard day after day. 9 So you see, the Lord knows how to rescue godly people from their trials, even while keeping the wicked under punishment until the day of final judgment.

I need to continue to obey God and be faithful. I don’t need to get discouraged living in this world and facing opposition to my beliefs day after day. God knows how to rescue me. God is big enough, strong enough and wise enough to deal with the problems of living in a country that is trying to constrict our religious freedoms. This is all nothing new to God. He has seen man desecrating his relationship with God since the Garden of Eden.

Life is challenging and keeping my emotions in check doesn’t seem to get any easier. But I know that I can daily pick up my cross and the burden isn’t mine alone to carry.

Psalm 37:39 The Lord rescues the godly; he is their fortress in times of trouble. 40 The Lord helps them, rescuing them from the wicked. He saves them, and they find shelter in him.

6 thoughts on “Tone It Down…or Don’t!

  1. Thank you. “This is all nothing new to God.” Those words are such a great reminder that God has always been, always seen, and always known exactly what is going on and He’s got it covered. Our part is, like you said, to behave the way He tells us to and not the way our feelings tell us to at times!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

