Jesus said that we should keep seeking and we will find.  He doesn’t spoil all the fun by saying that we will find what we seek.

Sometimes, I seek only the things I want.  I’ve learned that what I want, may or may not include the things God has in mind for me.  I’m slowly, that is slow in an often painful way, slowly learning to modify what I am seeking.

Alexander Fleming, just another lab scientist studying bacteria that causes infection, took a break and went on vacation.  I guess he was kind of like me and left things a mess as he departed his lab.

Upon his return, he found mold on his petri dishes.  This only happened because he was a slob and didn’t clean things up before heading away.  But he paid attention to this mold and found it had killed everything else on the petri dish.

That was the discovery of penicillin.

I wonder what would have happened if the mold had not tweaked Fleming’s curiosity to check it out and he had simply washed it away?  Would we still be searching for antibiotics now?

I have to keep in mind that seeking may lead me somewhere I don’t really want to go or plan to go.  I’m not really seeking if I set rigid guidelines on where I am looking or what I am looking for.  God may take me far from where I think I should be if I am really, really wanting to find everything he wants for me.

Matthew 7:7 “Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.

This opening of my mind toward God and his plan for me will influence what I am asking for, what doors I knock on and how I seek.  It adds a kind of excitement to my daily routine, knowing that this day could lead me anywhere.  This could be a day that changes everything for me and if not today, then tomorrow.

I really think that some days, I don’t want things to change.  I want to be the same as I was yesterday.  I want to be idle, static and unmoved.  Jesus seems to want me to ask for more than that, push my limits and find more than what today’s brain can comprehend.

He calls me to keep on finding, receiving and walking through newly opened doors.

3 thoughts on “Seeking and Finding

Leave a Reply

