At times I am really busy. The first part of this week zoomed by and I don’t see any possible way that it lasted several whole days. It seems like Sunday evening came and went and now it is Thursday. The next several weeks are going to be busy. There’s just no way around it.

When I get busy, I instinctively start looking for ways to not be so busy. I start to cut things out of life in order to slow down a little bit. Unfortunately, some of those things may be really important to keeping me healthy in my cranial cavity.

As busy-ness increases, often my selfishness does too. I tend to worry about taking care of myself and don’t take care of myself.

It is possible for me to get so busy that I stop being as obedient to God as I should be.

Proverbs 3:27 Do not withhold good from those who deserve it when it’s in your power to help them.

When I get really busy, I tend to withhold good because I just don’t have the time to invest in giving. I’m so wrapped up in all I have to do and all I want to do and all that has to be done that I stop looking at what God asks me to do. I greedily withhold from others to meet my needs.

In doing so, I stop meeting my needs. I need to give. It is one of those things that improves my mental and spiritual health. It turns the focus away from the “list” of things I have made in order to serve myself and provides a way to do something that reaches beyond me and expands my little world.

I have to see beyond my needs and see the needs of others. Then I have to help. Sometimes helping is a lot of hard work that my body struggles with a lot more now than it used to. Sometimes it is listening to problems I don’t really want to know about. Sometimes it is encouraging someone that seems like they aren’t listening.

I need to overlook the possibility that I may fail and try rather than make excuses that I am too busy and guarantee my failure. Sometimes it isn’t so much the great things I do that people remember, it is the fact that I stood with them and did my best. I’m not on my own in the things I do for others, God is right there with me making my efforts a part of his efforts. Success isn’t defined by what I see and feel, it is defined by God that sees it all, beginning to end.

Luke 6:38 “Give, and you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full—pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, running over, and poured into your lap. The amount you give will determine the amount you get back.”

Giving isn’t a logical thing. It is a mysterious way to receive from God. The giver and the receiver are blessed and the blessings outweigh the gift. This isn’t so much about cold hard cash. It’s about time, it’s about sacrificing an evening here and there putting aside what seems important to me and doing something important to someone else and letting God quietly transform me. Sometimes it takes a while to see what he is up to in me, other times I am immediately amazed by his presence in my life.

I’ll go out the door this morning knowing pretty much what I have to do. I hope I can keep from getting so wrapped up in those things that I don’t overlook what I ought to do.

Leave a Reply

