Smart phones have been a great invention especially for me. I can’t tell you when the last time was that I was forced to look like an idiot by asking for directions. I just get the GPS going and drive around aimlessly lost with a voice on the phone saying, “Make a slight left in five hundred feet”. When I realize that a slight left takes me into a river and the road signs don’t match where the robotic voice is telling me to go, I simply “re-ca-ul-cu-late”.

I’m pretty sure there was one time that even with the help of three maps, a smart phone, GPS and a set Yahtzee dice, my buddy and I still never found our fishing spot. But we did, however, find a different fishing spot which probably wasn’t as good as the one we were looking for because there were no fish. We did all this without asking for directions. It was an amazing feat.

I don’t know what it is inside me that makes me refuse to ask for directions once I am on my way somewhere. I have no problem asking for them before I leave the house. It seems like I am always trying to prove I can get there with the first set of directions. The problem is that if someone leaves out a turn or a road or something else critical to getting there, it is pretty much impossible to get where you are going without a whole bunch of luck or, dare I say, stopping and asking someone where you went wrong.

I tend to have problems following God’s directions. I don’t always pay close attention or I think I know all I need to know and take out on the run before he has told me all I need to know. Just because I have had such stellar success driving a car around lost doesn’t mean that I need to live life like that.

Psalm 86:11 Teach me your ways, O Lord,
that I may live according to your truth!
Grant me purity of heart,
so that I may honor you.

David knew the importance of learning from God before he went traipsing off into the wilderness of life. He managed with live life with fewer wrong turns than many even though there were times he definitely got far off the path. He understood that on his own he tended to get lost and did horrible things but with God he was able to stand victorious.

That same God desperately wants to teach me and guide me away from treachery and danger. Not only that he wants me to get from where I am now to a real and wonderful destination on my journey through this life.

Psalm 86:12 With all my heart I will praise you, O Lord my God.
I will give glory to your name forever,
13 for your love for me is very great.
You have rescued me from the depths of death.

That’s pretty cool. When I think about God and all he is doing at every second of every day, this elaborate plan of his being executed all over the universe, he has a place for me, a plan for me, a purpose that takes me from today into tomorrow.

How can I help but praise him as David did? His love for me is very great and he has rescued me from the depths of death even when I got there by ignoring his good advice and direction.

2 thoughts on “Directions?

  1. It must be a man thing not to ask for directions. My husband is like that too. I suppose it has to do with the hunter in him. Following God’s direction is the best. Thanks for another great post. Good to have you back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

