This is one of those days that I just don’t feel like I have what it takes to walk out that door and survive the day. I used to think that was a bad thing. If I felt too weak or too untalented, I was overwhelmed. I couldn’t grow strong and talented after a cup or two of java.

I’d mask my fears with arrogance, arrogance that had just a touch of anxiety and anger in it and hope for the best. Usually my hopes were not realized. The day would turn into just what I feared it would before I apprehensively stepped out the door.

As I look around me I see a lot of people dealing with how to cope with days that seem like the they can only get worse from here on out. People feel as though all that they had put their faith in is crumbling and they are losing control of their lives.

This is actually a good place to be. Whenever I felt like I had control, I also felt I had little or no need for God. This was not the truth. I finally found that I had the not-so-unique ability to turn a great day into a train wreck. That’s about all my control was good for.

It is in these moments of realizing that I am not in control that I can learn that I don’t need control.

It is in these moments that I can do the one thing that will virtually guarantee that I will let go and allow God to move.

I can simply pray according to his word.

Psalm 86:1 Bend down, O Lord, and hear my prayer;
answer me, for I need your help.
2 Protect me, for I am devoted to you.
Save me, for I serve you and trust you.
You are my God.
3 Be merciful to me, O Lord,
for I am calling on you constantly.
4 Give me happiness, O Lord,
for I give myself to you.
5 O Lord, you are so good, so ready to forgive,
so full of unfailing love for all who ask for your help.
6 Listen closely to my prayer, O Lord;
hear my urgent cry.
7 I will call to you whenever I’m in trouble,
and you will answer me.

God will never fail to hear me and answer me. He will protect me, save me, be merciful to me, give me joy, forgive and love me with unfailing love.

There may be chaos around me. There may be things I fear, people I fear, circumstances I fear but he will protect me and save me.

I only need to need him, devote myself to him, serve and trust him, call on him always, give myself to him, cry out to him and make him God and stop trying to take over his seat on the throne. He has all this craziness around me under control. It is never as bad as it appears. I can’t fix it. Only God can.

6 thoughts on “How Will I Survive Today?

  1. I had that moment in overwhelming amounts on Sunday morning. I felt deeply inadequate, sorry for myself and was crying my eyes out, in church. Then I sat and listened to the sermon, it was on the passage about the weeping sinner who washed Jesus’s feet with her tears, I thought I could act the part right then and there. Then Jesus stepped in and poured out His powerful and amazing grace. I repented of my sin and He showed me his loving face.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A very much needed word for me. God’s providence scares me, though. I will remember what you said because its true of me, too: “I finally found that I had the not-so-unique ability to turn a great day into a train wreck. That’s about all my control was good for.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How good it is to hear others repeatedly find themselves there (usually after falling) too, “Whenever I felt like I had control, I also felt I had little or no need for God.” Excellent message, Sir.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

