I actually said this, “I don’t think I’ll ever buy a car with air conditioning because it cuts fuel mileage.”

This was stated by a sixteen year old know-it-all who, when driving a car, cut fuel mileage at every single opportunity.  I slammed the gas pedal as if every second it was not floored was a second off my life.

Just a few years ago, I had a Ford Ranger that had air conditioning but it didn’t function. It just happened to be one of the hottest summers on record and a thirty minute drive home from work in the afternoon at 105 degrees would bring me to the brink of dehydration.  It was a real sweat box.

I no longer find air conditioning optional.  I honestly think that the only reason I liked not having it in a car in the first place was so that I could drive around with ‘Foghat’ blasting ‘Slow Ride’ at excruciating volumes for all to hear as I cruised around town with all the windows down.

As the temps here climb into nice, humid nineties, I’m pretty glad to be able to crank the A/C and find my younger self’s opinion to be a lot of hogwash.

I’m glad that I have let go of lots of dumb opinions and ideas that I had in my youth.  I’m not quite so glad that I have let go of my waistline but that is a different story.

I’ve also slowly begun to learn to let go of some of my opinions and ideas about God, although I learned my air conditioning lesson much earlier in life.  But at times I am still, at times, just a nearly sixty year old know-it-all driving with my sinfulness floored, professing to care about something I really disregard.

Proverbs 12:14 Wise words bring many benefits, and hard work brings rewards.

It is good to start with changing my babbling to wisdom.  I can’t make up truth to justify my actions or my wants.  Wise words aren’t just wishful thinking, they need to be words of truth about my needs and not denial.  Denial of truth is just another way to lie.

When I speak truth, good things can happen.

Proverbs 12:19 Truthful words stand the test of time, but lies are soon exposed.

I lived with a lot of lies in my life for a long time and I thought that I was getting away with being a liar, but I had to continue to lie to cover up my lies because they could not stand the test of time.

If, after a while, I find that what I thought was true was kind of a little off or if I was completely off base, I can simply admit I was wrong.  In the past, I felt I had to compound my wrongness with all sorts of talk, talk that cannot possibly be called wisdom, to try to make myself seem right.

It is much simpler to admit I was wrong and go fresh from there.  It is just another benefit of wise words.  Sometimes the wisest thing I can say is, “I was wrong.”

It is almost time to walk out the door into another steamy morning.  I’ll climb in the truck and crank up the A/C.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Yep, I Said This

Leave a Reply

