There was a time that I thought I would never have to wear glasses. I could see things that others couldn’t. I’d be sitting in the deer stand looking for deer and scan the woods to see a deer’s leg move in a dense thicket two hundred yards away. I remember trying to point out a deer in the woods to my son. Sometimes it would take him several minutes to spot what I was seeing even though he had pretty great eyesight too. My eyesight wasn’t perfect, though, since I deal with a little (OK, maybe a lot) of color-blindness.

I enjoyed being able to see things that others couldn’t for years. Then the inevitable happened. I began to struggle seeing the things close to me. I have to wear glasses to be able to read now. That wasn’t so bad, though, because I could still see better than a lot of people as long as what I was looking at was farther away than my fingertips. I figured I could go on like that for years, only putting glasses on when I needed read or tie flies.

I was right, except it wasn’t as many years as I had hoped. I got bi-focals, but I told myself that it was just so that I could see up close and look through clear lenses far away. That way I didn’t have to take my glasses off and on all the time. That was only true for a while. Soon I was told that I had a prescription for a little astigmatism and then a prescription for something else.

One day I was looking out at the trees across the road without my glasses and thought, “I can see over there just fine. Why do I have a prescription for distance?” Then I put my glasses on. The leaves on the trees now had definition. What once was a giant clump of green was now hundreds of green leaves. They were moving in the breeze. The ground was not just a brown mass. It was made up of dead leaves and bare dirt and weeds.

I thought I could see what was over there. I would have argued with anyone that what I saw was accurate. I was certain that I had all the visual information that could be had without actually walking over there and hopping the fence and standing in those woods.

I believed a lie. I needed those glasses to be able to see clearly. If I couldn’t see clearly, my brain could tell me anything it wanted too and as long as it made some sense with my fuzzy perception, I would have believed it. My brain had been lying to me. It told me that I could see clearly when I could not.

The weekend is over and I am getting ready to start my week today. I need to be careful that I see clearly this week. When I make a choice at work, I make sure I am wearing my glasses to see the problem clearly. I don’t try to wing it, even for a few minutes, trying to process things without them. I also need to see things clearly spiritually. I need to admit that I can’t see things as they truly are with my own eyes.

John 9:39 Then Jesus told him, “I entered this world to render judgment—to give sight to the blind and to show those who think they see that they are blind.”

Our brains tell us that we see just fine when it comes to spiritual matters. They tell us we see problems and circumstance as they truly are. But I am often blind when I lean on my own understanding.

John 9:41 “If you were blind, you wouldn’t be guilty,” Jesus replied. “But you remain guilty because you claim you can see.”

There are things that I can only see with the assistance of Jesus Christ. I need Jesus to see things as they truly are. I still may not understand what I see but I can see that it isn’t what I thought it was when I looked at it without God’s optics.

I am blind because I choose to be blind. God desires to illuminate my world with his light. I need to be diligent to make sure I am wearing my spiritual glasses to walk through each day. I want to navigate the path before me and not lay in a ditch with the bugs and roadkill.

Matthew 15:14 “They are blind guides leading the blind, and if one blind person guides another, they will both fall into a ditch.”

I don’t need to waste my days amongst the roadside carnage and I especially don’t want to drag someone else in along with me. I need sharp eyesight, I need to see and hear the truth. I need to be sure I am taking advice from God and not a blind man.

2 thoughts on “Glasses

  1. Mike, wonderful post. Absolutely on the mark — the ungodly cannot see spiritual things even though what they do see seems to make sense to them. And for the Christian, we must lean on Him, and look through His eyes of love and compassion, grace and mercy, as we walk along the way. (On a humorous note, wait until you have trifocals — then you can’t see anywhere because you’re not sure which of the 3 lenses to look through!) Blessings to you today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

