When I read the Book of Proverbs, I tend to skip over a verse now and then.  Here’s one I that I tend to read and don’t usually try to apply:

Proverbs 12:12 Thieves are jealous of each other’s loot, but the godly are well rooted and bear their own fruit.

Maybe it is because thieves jealous of each other’s loot reminds me of pirates saying, “Arr, matey, me wishes me had that big treasure chest full of riches for me self! Arr!”

Or maybe I just don’t feel like I am a thief, but I think it is more the pirate thing.

The first part of the verse seems really obvious to me.  I’ve seen enough ‘Godfather’ movies to know that thieves love to steal from other thieves because they want what the other thief has.

But there is still plenty for me to mine from this verse.  “The godly are well rooted and bear their own fruit.”

I’ve had a lot of plans in my 5+ decades of living on this planet.  Most of those plans ended up in failure.  I tried starting a business a few times.  But what I failed to realize is that to get a business going, it has to develop.  It needs to get down and dirty, develop some roots if it is going to be around tomorrow.

I preferred to just start making money.  Then when things got tough, I had no business left.  It kind of just disappeared.

That’s a pretty strong indication of how I lived most of my life.  I had lots of good intentions but I never bothered to dig down and put some good roots in the ground.  I knew God’s Word and how it applied to others but didn’t really follow the same rules for myself.  I wanted others to live right and make up for my slacking.

I wanted others to bear my fruit.  I was a spiritual pirate, lusting for what others had and not being willing to get it fair and square.

“Arrrr, be a better Christian matey, so’s I can enjoy me life a bit more!  Arr.”

(Don’t you just love pirate talk?)

I’ve learned that my happiness cannot depend on others and what they can give me.  I have to get myself well rooted and bear fruit.  If my life is a barren wasteland of what is left over from me just trying to survive, I will always be wanting.  If I make it a testimony of what God can do through me, I will find joy.

“Shiver me timbers, that’s all the time me has for today! Arr.”

Leave a Reply

