When Jesus came, as the Messiah, the Jews were looking for a Messiah.

However, most Jews missed it because they weren’t looking for God’s Messiah, they were looking for the Messiah they thought they needed.

They were under the rule of Rome and didn’t like it.  They knew that the Messiah would come as a deliverer and they assumed that what they would be delivered from was the oppression of the Romans.

So Jesus came and planted the Gospel here on earth but since it wasn’t what the Jews thought God should have been sending them, they participated in the death of Jesus.

This could have been the end of the story, man’s last chance to grab redemption, one last shot to have what was forfeited in the garden millenia before, forfeited again due to mankind’s need to see Jesus in its own image. But it was not.

Jesus, despite rejection, despite being God, judged by man as a fraud or fool, stood up in the tomb and walked out into the light of day.  He pronounced that his plan was not only still THE PLAN but he proved that no stamp of finality applied by man can make it null and void.

Proverbs 11:7 When the wicked die, their hopes die with them, for they rely on their own feeble strength.

Still, despite the power that Christ has proven, his desire to apply that great power to my life freely and the evidence that I have seen as to the transforming miracle it can make of me, I choose far to often to rely on my own feeble strength.

I’ve watched my hopes die time and time again, stood and surveyed the destruction and collapsed in the ashes of my dreams but still I try to suck it up, gather my strength and attempt to rebuild what should not stand.

God doesn’t allow my hopes to be crushed and my kingdom leveled just for me to build it back up again.

He wants me to join forces with him, to learn to become more than what I am and build a kingdom that cannot fall, a kingdom that death cannot stop.

Does it take a lifetime of falling somewhat short of this to inherit the kingdom of God?  I’m not sure how now fits into my future or the next life.  I only know that I need to build on the hopes that will not die with my wickedness, but to construct this life on hopes that will still stand even though I may be so beaten down I need some serious resurrecting.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Own Feeble Strength

  1. Ephesians 6:10 Be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.
    (As a sister in Christ said, that power is resurrecting, delivering power.)

    This is the word I received in the middle of a fretful night…after a day of such weakness I had never known before… \o/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

