Sometimes right out of the blue, a memory will shoot across my brain like a meteorite zips across the night sky, real and alive for a moment until it suddenly vanishes before I have seen enough. Many of those fragmented memories involve music and the people who made music. I think those of us that are most affected by music are a somewhat unique group of people, not necessarily a small group, that have a different reaction to what we hear.

When I hear Frampton Comes Alive I am transported in time to cold winter nights riding in my friends Ford Galaxy with the humongous fastback window. I can remember it, I can feel it. Do you feel like I do? If you get why I asked that last question, you may be having your own transported moment even as you read this. Boston’s first album takes me to summertime, cruising the Steak n Shake on First Capital Drive. I could go on and on, there is just no end to the songs that spark my memory.

The first song memory I have, at least that I can remember, is one of those shooting star type memories. I can only recall pieces of it. I am very young, young enough to get away with coloring and crawling around on the floor during church. It is summer and we are sitting on hard pews and the windows are open. There are a couple of fans running and I am next to my dad. Mom is playing the piano. My Uncle Curly stands behind the pulpit, his wavy hair is glued in place with some type of what we now call “product”applied liberally. It shines and combined with his sweat he looks pretty hot standing up there. He dabs at the sweat on his forehead with a handkerchief and begins to sing into the big, shiny microphone:

My heart can sing when I pause to remember
A heartache here is but a stepping stone
Along a path that’s winding always upward
This troubled world is not my final home

But until then my heart will go on singing
Until then with joy I’ll carry on
Until the day my eyes behold my Savior
Until the day God calls me home

The things of earth will dim and lose their value
If we recall they’re borrowed for a while
And things of earth that cause this heart to tremble
Remember there will only bring a smile

But until then my heart will go on singing…

Even as a small boy on the verge of leaving toddler-hood, I was struck by the power of the melody of this song and the hope it spoke to me. Uncle Curly reared back (in our family pronounced “rared” back) and let those choruses go with all he had inside him. He didn’t attempt to hold back any tears as he felt the impact of what he was singing. I wish I could hear it all again. Sadly he can no longer sing that song, not only because he is gone from this earth but those words just don’t apply anymore. He is finished waiting “Until Then”. I have missed the man that had that profound effect on my life many times over the years.

I really wish I could always pause to remember like the words of that song say. There are probably a million times that I have determined that my problems were the end of the world as we know it. But I didn’t remember the right memories. I have to be intentional about remembering that God has got it covered. I have to pause. I have to stop all the whirlwinds of worry that are swirling around in my brain for just a moment.

Psalms 105:5 Remember the wonders he has performed, his miracles, and the rulings he has given,

Exodus 13:3 So Moses said to the people, “This is a day to remember forever—the day you left Egypt, the place of your slavery. Today the Lord has brought you out by the power of his mighty hand.

Sometimes it only takes a memory to realize that God will not forget me. There is only one way for God to forget anything. That is when it is hidden beneath the blood of His Son. If I remember God, what I know to be true comes to light and what I fear may come falls into darkness. God has been faithful, He will continue to be for all of eternity.

Deuteronomy 7:9 Understand, therefore, that the Lord your God is indeed God. He is the faithful God who keeps his covenant for a thousand generations and lavishes his unfailing love on those who love him and obey his commands.

So until then my heart will go on singing
Until then with joy I’ll carry on
Until the day my eyes behold my Savior
Until the day God calls me home

God, help me to simply remember those things that You have done. You have brought me out by the power of your mighty hand and You will keep your word. Remind me throughout my days. Amen.

5 thoughts on “Pause to Remember

  1. I truly believe that God uses music to reach parts of our hearts that might otherwise remain untouched. Thanks for this beautiful post. I could not help but think of the hymn stanza “I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.” Blessings to you today, and thanks for stopping by The Ruminant Scribe. I appreciate your taking the time to read the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He is the creator of music and no music is more beautiful than when it closes the gap between us and him.

      I really enjoy reading your blog and sincerely appreciate your comments and the time you spent reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

