One of the reasons I write is to keep me from talking too much.  When I talk, I ramble on from subject to subject and it often seems like the more I speak, the less I say.

I also seem easily drawn into verbal competition where I am forced to recall an experience or insight more magnificent than the poor person that willingly or unwillingly stands in the opposite corner.  This can often lead to exaggeration or what I like to call “lying”.

Talking often becomes an outlet for my pride looking for a way to display itself to one or more poor souls that must endure my arrogance.

I wish I could sit here and say that I had overcome all my difficulty with the outcome of opening my mouth but although I do much better, most of the time, I am still struggling with this.

Matthew 13:16 “But blessed are your eyes, because they see; and your ears, because they hear. 17 I tell you the truth, many prophets and righteous people longed to see what you see, but they didn’t see it. And they longed to hear what you hear, but they didn’t hear it.”

Jesus is communicating with a group of people here in this scripture.  I can’t help but notice that he omits blessing the tongue that blabs.

For most of my life, I prayed and told a lot of things to God.  I also asked and on occasion was so bold as to demand, for a lot of things.  My tongue was the single most active part of my prayer life.

But as I read my bible, now I can see that there are a lot of scriptures that Moses, Elijah and the other heavy hitters that set the table for the coming of Christ did not have.  When I see what God is offering to show me in his word and speak into my heart, I have an opportunity to see and hear what they longed to experience and were unable to.

I think that it is possible, no, make that definite, that if I shut up, see and hear, there will be more blessing in my life.

Proverbs 10:19 Too much talk leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.

When I write, I can go back and make sure that what I have put on the page is worthy of being read, even if it only resonates with one person, then it is a good thing.  If it just rings a bell and directs others to look at me, then it is babble and I can delete it.

Words, once they infiltrate the ears of someone else via my loud mouth, cannot be undone.

I need to be reminded often to take the cotton our of my ears and put it in my mouth.  I need to recognize that when I rattle on and on about what I want and need to God that I am shutting out seeing and hearing what the prophets of old would have loved to have seen and heard.  I need to be sensible more often and stop letting my mouth lead me to sin.

3 thoughts on “Talk or Listen?

Leave a Reply

