I am the king of my castle.  Even though I am sometimes outranked by the queen, it is still good to be king.

I can roam the yard, usually behind a push mower, and I can retreat to the comfort of my recliner where I have complete control of the remote unless someone else wants it.

Yeah, I like to think that my home is my own and that I rule the roost (except on days that end in “y”).

When I peruse the list of those that have visited my kingdom, I can see that it is a fairly respectable group of folks.

Here’s the problem: It isn’t a good idea for me to just welcome people like me into my kingdom.

First of all, it isn’t my kingdom that I should be trying to expand, it is God’s.

Second of all, following Christ isn’t about making friends that are easy, ones that want what I want, like what I like and feel like I feel.

God is equipping me for more than that.  I need to use the equipment.

Matthew 9:10 Later, Matthew invited Jesus and his disciples to his home as dinner guests, along with many tax collectors and other disreputable sinners. 11 But when the Pharisees saw this, they asked his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with such scum?”

I have to confess, no one has ever accused me of eating with scum.  I tend to eat with people that have homes and jobs and nice cars with good reputations.  Why is that?

The thought of anything else seems uncomfortable for me.

I have to ask myself, “Do I consider others scum?”

Then I have to ask, “Who am I overlooking because they don’t meet my standards?”

This isn’t easy.  It isn’t in my nature to address these boundaries I have set.  It is in my nature to sit comfortably within those boundaries.

Matthew 9:12 When Jesus heard this, he said, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do.”

In order to be a follower of Christ, I need to go where he would go.  I really think I have been going where I want and dragging a little bit of Jesus along with me.  That’s not how it is supposed to work.  I have meant well but done little.

I think I need to be less concerned about my castle and more intentional about God’s kingdom.  I need to take Christ to where it is needed most.  I don’t know exactly what that means today but if I don’t look past my personal boundaries, I never will.

 

2 thoughts on “King of My Castle

Leave a Reply

