Today I feel like I need to look at how I rate people.  I don’t look around and say, “That guy is a nine!” or “That kid is a three”.

I like to think I treat everyone the same.

As usual, what I like to think and what I do think are two different things.

There are people that I think are better than me.  They speak better, they look better, they are in better shape, they have a better house or a better job.  They are just better.

There are people that are better than me at some things but are more my equal.

There are people that I think I am better than.

I don’t like to think that I feel this way but I really do.  Now, there was a time not too long ago that I felt like everyone was better than me and I felt the need to level the playing field by tearing others down to make me feel better.  It is easy to see that this is wrong and the results were that I had no friends at all, even my family didn’t really like me.

In reality, I have to remind myself that no one is better or worse.  Christ died for all.  We all needed him.

But I still fight with pride.  Something inside me sends me a message that I am better than someone else because I smell better or I pay my bills or I have a job or whatever it is that causes me to compare myself to some struggling soul on any particular day.

That message is clearly wrong and Jesus reinforces the wrongness of that message pretty clearly.

Matthew 25:40  “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’”

If I want to find Jesus, he is in those that I consider the least.

Matthew 25:35 ‘For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. 36 I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

Jesus wasn’t just giving me a list of kind things to do, he was telling me that I need to elevate the least to a position of equal.  That is a hard thing to do.  Pride tells me that I am wasting my time and that I can’t do much and honestly, people like to have lesser people around.  But Jesus says to pull them up and keep pulling till I enter the kingdom and he finishes the job.

Matthew 25:45 “And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’
46 “And they will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous will go into eternal life.”

To tell you the truth, I don’t always like when God tells the truth.  I tend to overlook these scriptures a lot.  I don’t think I am living them the way I should be.  I am all religious and all but I kind of feel like the hypocritical religious leaders Jesus is addressing in these words.  I don’t feel like Jesus was fooling around here.  I do feel like I am.  I should be doing more.  The least aren’t getting enough of my attention.

Leave a Reply

