“I ain’t skeered!”

I’ve learned over the years that the person that says this is extremely skeered most of the time. The one that says it the loudest is often to the point of being terrified and petrified by fear. I’ve learned this because I have come to recognize this denial in myself and once it becomes evident that I am a fearful being, it is easier to see others deny this part of life.

Ever since man’s disobedience in the garden, fear has driven man to do the irrational and non-sensical. Adam and Eve attempted to hide their sin from God even though they knew him intimately and had to know that there is no hiding when it comes to God.

Denying that I have fear is not going to diminish fear’s grip on me. It simply causes me to eliminate my fear from my decision-making process. Say I climb up on the wrong roof and I am supposed to be on the one next door. I just might be able to jump to the next roof. Fear causes me to look closer and decide that I can be sure to get on the right roof if I climb down and move over one house. Denying that fear will probably cause me to be a lawn ornament somewhere between the two houses.

My real life fear of heights usually causes me to stay off the roof in the first place. That’s one of the reasons I stay off ladders. If I don’t get on a ladder, I probably won’t be on a roof unless I develop the ability to fly.

I used to claim I wasn’t afraid of much and I’d punch anyone in the nose that said otherwise. The truth is that I was very afraid but I embedded it in a ton of anger. When I was afraid, I rarely cowered back but I charged forward in a rage. Today when I feel a lot of anger, I can usually dig in deep and see what I am afraid of.

On this morning, I sit here and type confronted by a couple fears. I know I have to face them today. I know that I can choose to do right or choose to do wrong.

Psalm 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation—so why should I be afraid? The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger, so why should I tremble?

If I refuse to admit to my fear, how do I grab hold of these scriptures? How can I hear what God is saying? He is speaking to me and my fear. He is giving me something to live this day by. Now is not the time for pride to allow me to deny what I am feeling. It is a time to push that pride away and hear what God is telling me.

Psalm 27:2 When evil people come to devour me, when my enemies and foes attack me, they will stumble and fall. 3 Though a mighty army surrounds me, my heart will not be afraid. Even if I am attacked, I will remain confident.

When others attack me, I don’t have to knock them down, I don’t have to spew clever words of hate, I don’t have to launch an assault of any kind. They will just stumble and fall. That’s the blessing of grabbing hold of this fear and placing it in God’s hands instead of carrying it with me hidden in a giant ball of anger and hate.

Psalm 27:5 For he will conceal me there when troubles come; he will hide me in his sanctuary. He will place me out of reach on a high rock. 6 Then I will hold my head high above my enemies who surround me. At his sanctuary I will offer sacrifices with shouts of joy, singing and praising the Lord with music.

Today there will be fear. There will be opportunities for me to mess things up pretty bad. I have to let those opportunities go, take my hands off of the outcome and stand back and watch God knock my fears on their backside before he runs them off into the next county. He will keep me out of reach of danger and hold my head high.

When I sat down to write this I felt as if there was a heavy rock upon my heart but God’s Word has spoken to me and told me that it is time for this rock to be lifted from me and that he will put me high atop it. I’m seeing a lot of music and shouts of joy for this day for the Lord is with me and will never leave me alone to face my fears.

Leave a Reply

