I’ve visited a few places that claim to have the world’s best burgers, best pizza, best steaks or best fried pickles. I’m sure that with some people, the psychological edge of having them believe that they are about to bite into the world’s best of anything before any of it hits their taste buds makes it taste a little better than it really is.

But I’m not like that. I immediately start going through my memory banks upon the first nibble seeking the one chicken wing that was immeasurably better than the world’s best one I have in my hand.

Yep, that chicken wing I ate twenty-six years ago at a restaurant, the name of which I can’t recall, was definitely better.

I am wired so much to try to contradict what the sign outside a business says about being the world’s best, that it spills over into other parts of my life.

Even when I sit in church on Sunday mornings, I begin to think back about things I thought were better. The messages were better some other time or some other place. The music would be better if they turned up the bass. The music would be better if they turned down the bass.

I forget that I’m not going to church to be given a big dose of what I want, when I want it.

Philippians 1:25 Knowing this, I am convinced that I will remain alive so I can continue to help all of you grow and experience the joy of your faith.

Church isn’t time for me to sit back get the world’s best of anything. It is time for me to go to work. Paul says he remained alive to help believers grow and experience joy. I can do this regardless of how talented the leaders of my church are. If a sermon contains God’s word preached truthfully, it is up to me to get something out of it. If the bass or the piano isn’t exactly to my liking, it is up to me to look past it straight into the depths of heaven and glorify God above.

I remain alive to help others. If God has placed me in a church that gives me opportunities to do that, it is probably the world’s best place for me to be. It is almost certainly God’s best place for me to be.

I’ve sat on my seat in the church, mind wandering about thinking of things the church could do better instead of what I can do better. I love my church much more when I am serving others instead of waiting to be served better.

I guess it is time for me to stop wanting the world’s best and focus on giving the world the best, helping them experience the joy of faith.

Serving gets hard from time to time. But not serving slowly turns me into a spiritual parasite with no real purpose other than hoarding as much “me” time as I can get. If I am truly a Christ follower, how can I refuse to live for others as Christ did?

I have an opportunity to truthfully let everyone know that the “World’s Best is Served Here!” I need to choose to live as Paul did, as Christ did, to help and nurture. I’ve learned that is where my help and growth and joy come from in this life. I just need to be willing to do it more.

Leave a Reply

