Years ago I read a book, ‘The Power of Positive Thinking’. Someone had told me that I needed to read it. I must have been more of a negative thinker than I realized. I don’t recall a lot of the writing in the book but I do remember that the outcomes seemed to have had a lot more to do with God intervening and less to do with the positive thoughts of a man.

I tried to do some positive thinking but decided it just wasn’t in me. God didn’t need me to think positive to do what he was going to do.

Today, I can see that what I think makes a huge difference in how my brain works, how I look at this day and the future and even my past, and my relationship with God.

Proverbs 10:24 The fears of the wicked will be fulfilled; the hopes of the godly will be granted.

Every day, I am given choices between fear and hope. Far often I choose fear. I choose to take my eyes off of God and look at the storm around me. Circumstances control my outlook for today and tomorrow and begin to swallow me in their sea of uncertainty.

I am learning more and more to choose hope. I am seeing that there is no situation, no storm, no darkness, no tumult of emotional sadness or anxiety that God isn’t more than big enough and faithful enough to step down into.

He doesn’t sit on a cloud up in the sky watching me, coaching me, “Come on, Mike. Do it the way I showed ya’”

He is within me, around me, beside me, before me, behind me, I am engulfed in him and his glory. He is my way and the way will not falter.

I can choose to fear the next lightning strike or the next clap of thunder or I can look for the sun that is breaking the clouds and scattering the storm. Fear or hope, I choose what will influence this day and change the way I live it.

I’m not going to positive think a problem away. But a mind filled with hope will help me face that problem and do what it takes to see what God can do with it.

There is power in Godly thinking, choosing to see how big God is and how immense what he is doing really is. There is also power in seeing how God chooses to work in the tiniest details that I often overlook. I’m not alone, hope abounds and fear is a choice that I can refuse to make.

Leave a Reply

