I’d like to write about living a stress-free life but since I don’t ever remember living life like that, maybe I should stick to things I know a little bit about. So today, I am going to write about shutting up.

I know a lot about shutting up. I can almost always tell when I should have shut up and not said anything after I have said the things I shouldn’t have said.

The first rule of shutting up, for me, is to not say things when I am angry. If I get angry today, I need to find a place to calm down, think about what needs to be said and take care of things from a place where things can be fixed.

If I stop and think, I can avoid breaking things worse and lamenting a situation that requires some serious work to repair.

The second rule is that just because I can make a funny insult about someone’s temporary lapse of intelligence, I do not have to share it with everyone. If it isn’t viewed as funny by the person that sparked the hilarious thoughts in my mind, my mind is probably where they should stay.

I can make rules all day long of things that I shouldn’t say. I’ll spare you that and share one more rule written by some guy a lot wiser than I am.

Proverbs 15:28 The heart of the godly thinks carefully before speaking; the mouth of the wicked overflows with evil words.

I need to think carefully before speaking, not quickly, not pridefully, not angrily, not hatefully. Thinking carefully brings out the godliness in me even if I am not the most godly guy in the room. Not doing so fills the place with an overflow of evil words.

I need to stop making excuses for a lot of things I say and call them what they are, evil words.

Think carefully. I really need to latch onto all that implies. Two words can make a profound change in all of my words.  Maybe they can even make life more stress-free!

Leave a Reply

