Some days are made for deep reflection and the hard work of submitting to God for reconstruction. It is important to expand my spiritual limitations by tearing down the fences I have built between me and God.

Other days it is important to just celebrate the fences that have been torn down, rejoice in the freedom of the open spaces in my life that I have allowed God to reign in and worship him in ways that I have not been able to before.

Today, I celebrate, not because there is a magic holiday marked on a calendar, not because I got a good night of sleep or because anyone told me I should. But today I celebrate because I really feel like I don’t do it enough.

I think that maybe I allow guilt from my past to tell me that celebration is foolish and I don’t deserve any anyway. I’m pretty sure that’s a lie.

Psalm 47:1 Come, everyone! Clap your hands!
Shout to God with joyful praise!
2 For the Lord Most High is awesome.
He is the great King of all the earth.

Last night I watched the St. Louis Blues Hockey beat the Panthers.  There was a lot of hugging and cheering among the players.  The team could have just walked off the ice and the fans could have just nodded their heads and went home. But every good victory deserves some cheering and celebration.

It is important for me to observe victories and celebrate where they come from. When I spent all of my time struggling on my own, there were few things to celebrate. I tended to celebrate wins by other people, President’s Day, the Fourth of July and a few other things that I had nothing to do with and didn’t get to be a part of.

Now, God uses me when I allow it to happen and often when I don’t even know it. God uses ME! I have been a failure, a basket case, a lost cause, and he uses me, me the one that perverted his words for my own edification, the one that made church about me and the one that cursed him in anger.

That’s a bigger deal than a home-run or a touchdown or even a hat-trick (which is a pretty big deal).

Psalm 47:6 Sing praises to God, sing praises;
sing praises to our King, sing praises!
7 For God is the King over all the earth.
Praise him with a psalm.

So today is a day of celebration. I can sing again with a new heart to the King that created a new heart in me.

Leave a Reply

