I have often said that God is at the top of my list of priorities in life. I’ve felt a little proud of that. After all, he hasn’t always been and it took a lot of commitment to move him from the basement to the top floor. Life has been better but I still struggle a lot in almost every single area of life.

It isn’t like it used to be with disaster looming around every corner or catastrophe chasing me every step of my journey. But it is difficult at times I think it really shouldn’t be.

Yesterday, I was prompted to check my list again. God is still right there at the top. Behind him is family, church, job, community, fishing, camping and all the other things I love to spend my time and energy on.

But, if I were to take a closer look, I’m ashamed to admit that my list has more of my time and energy devoted to other things than I do to God.

It is a problem to just cut things from the list until God has most of my life. I’d have a rough time making it without my family and church and even fishing.

I don’t believe God is asking me to cut my list down, though.

Mark 12:29 Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. 30 And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’

My list is a symbol of me trying to remain in control of most of my life. God isn’t to be held higher than I hold my family. He is to be a part of how I hold my family. He is to be a part of my job. He is even to be a part of my fishing.

I need to take my list and add God to everything on it, right down to the lowest things on the list, like putting my laundry away. He is to be God of all, the large and small.

God is big enough to be the center of everything on my list. He desires to be in every nook and cranny of my soul, mind and strength.

I think this is what I have been trying to do but I haven’t really defined it and been directed to intentionally shift from placing God into what I think is his place to the places he wants to be. He never wants me to journey into any part of my life without him. My list should never move me further from him, it should drive me toward him.

God can work in me wherever I am, whoever I am with. He should encompass my list and let me know if there are some things on it that are hurting me and he will help me cross those things off.

This isn’t just important. Jesus said it is the greatest commandment. Jesus called it the greatest. But that is the top of another list entirely.

Leave a Reply

