Last fall, I stepped off of dry land and into the river that gets the most of my fishing attention. To my dismay, there were a couple of guys standing in one of my favorite spots.

So, I wandered around them and went to another good place where another guy was fishing.

I kept on going and fished an open area that usually doesn’t have many fish but managed to catch a couple before heading to another favorite spot that had four guys standing in the middle of it.

I, for the most part, spent my time looking for a place someone else wasn’t already fishing.

That’s pretty unusual for this stretch of water. I normally don’t see many other people at all.

Needless to say, I didn’t catch as many fish as I usually do.

So plans changed and fishing took a back seat over the weekend. I spent time resting at the camper, sitting around the fire and enjoying the perfect fall weather. It was a great weekend away with my wife and friends even though I only caught four fish.

I think there would have been times I would have measured the whole trip by number of fish caught and been terribly dissatisfied with the entire weekend. There are so many other things to measure a trip out-of-town by, though, and when you add it all up, the weekend was awesome!

I get tunnel vision in life and measure by just how much money I make or how much I like my vehicle or what my kids are doing. Those things don’t always pan out the way I want them to.

I need to look at all of life, including what God has done, is doing and will do. My standards of measurement don’t always reflect the greatness that works in my life. I can easily become dissatisfied with a life that a lot of other people would love to have.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

I need to remember to not try to hang a number on how good life is. My bank account, my car, my family and my job don’t measure all circumstances. They merely show that I am blessed beyond what I really need.

2 thoughts on “How I Measure Life

Leave a Reply

