Right now, our dog is busily gulping down water. I’m pretty sure he is going to slurp away until the bowl is empty. He had a rough night. It seemed like the lightning and thunder would never end and he was so scared that he was allowed to do what we never ever allow him to do, sleep on our bed.

For a while he was practically on my chest. He’s not a little dog. He’s a big old furry husky, not exactly a lap dog.

As the lightning flashed and thunder boomed he lay next to me, pressing hard against me until he began to feel safe and relaxed enough to sleep.

I guess dogs don’t understand storms. They must think their world is ending as the thunder rattles the sky and shakes the earth beneath their feet. They must sense danger in the illumination of crooked trails of light across the sky that come and go in a flash.

I enjoy a good storm as long as it isn’t accompanied by tornadoes or floods or some other disaster. Clearly, our dog does not.

I am much more like my dog when it comes to personal storms. The slightest disturbance in my world can send me into total fear mode. I quiver and shake in the corner hoping it will all pass soon.

I know God wants me to be more like him and understand that storms are just a part of life and my world isn’t going to end until it fits in with God’s timing.

Instead of planting myself alone in the corner, I need to place myself close to God and let his confidence in his plan cover me and fill me with the ability to relax and shrug off my fear. These storms will pass and he will protect me.

Psalm 91:9 If you make the Lord your refuge,
if you make the Most High your shelter,
10 no evil will conquer you;
no plague will come near your home.
11 For he will order his angels
to protect you wherever you go.
12 They will hold you up with their hands
so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone.

I think sometimes I need to look to my dog for advice. Just as he makes me his refuge, I should run to the Lord when the storm comes. I have a tendency to feed my fear rather than to clothe myself in his strength that is above all strength. I need to make him my refuge and shelter and give fear a swift kick in the backside.

Leave a Reply

