I often wonder why I have such difficulty living a godly life.

When I sit down and face the way I live life, I can see that I am like a pendulum, swinging from one extreme to another. I’m very happy and then I am very sad. I’m getting things done and then I am procrastinating. I’m on a diet and then I’m eating like there’s no tomorrow.

As I go forward in life, it is best that I do it the way God would have me do it and not be so affected by my feelings or whatever else causes me to do and stop doing whatever I should be doing.

When I look at how I follow God’s commandments, I can see my lack of consistency. Some commandments are simply things I will not do, ever, under no circumstances.

I think that somewhere deep in the bone that makes up my skull, there is a tiny particle of brain that tells me that since I follow those commandments, life should be good.

In reality, following the commandments doesn’t guarantee a good life. It does, however, generally cause a better life. If I refuse to murder, I have a far less likelihood of being imprisoned, executed or murdered. Following that commandment is a really great idea.

Keeping God’s commandments enhances life here on earth. Life here can use all the enhancement it can get.

But for me to have any kind of consistency in my life here on Planet Earth, I need to accept all of what God has for me, including keeping his commandments.

James 2:10 For the person who keeps all of the laws except one is as guilty as a person who has broken all of God’s laws. 11 For the same God who said, “You must not commit adultery,” also said, “You must not murder.” So if you murder someone but do not commit adultery, you have still broken the law.

So where has this brought me today? It brings me to loving my neighbor as myself, loving others as Christ loved me and loving God with all my heart. These things are hard for me and at times, I simply do not do them. Other times, I love those that I feel sorry for while I wish judgment on others that get under my skin. Almost always, I do not love others unconditionally.

I try most of the time but at other times I toss the idea of loving my enemies right out the door and then I wonder why I do not feel closer to God.

But God doesn’t move close and then back away. I do that. Every time I refuse to follow his commands, I choose myself over God and when I do, I add complication and confusion to my life and I hope back on the pendulum swinging wildly over dangerous waters.

I think I need to keep this scripture in my heart daily, no, momentarily, hang it on my mirror and computer monitor, tattoo it on my arm and play it on my radio. I need to keep it alive in my life and let my life be something better than what I can make it.

2 thoughts on “Riding the Pendulum

Leave a Reply

