One of the ways I have managed to get rid of a lot of worry and anxiety in my life is by learning to enjoy what I have. In a world that always wants more, sometimes I have pressured myself to have more so that I appear to be successful.

Getting more is not always easy. The quest for more often leads to poor decision making and financial disaster.

I’m learning to ask questions that focus on getting what I need rather than going through life checking things off my wish list.

It is much more important to focus on things that drive me to become a better man than to appear to be a better man because my garage, basement, yard, house and bank account are full.

The one that dies with the most toys does not win. He simply creates a bigger mess for his family to clean up once he is gone.

When I realize that most of what I need, I already have, I don’t feel the need to worry about surviving another day in the rat race. In fact, in most cases, I have more than I need.

I have a whole bunch of boxes in the basement full of things that I can’t seem to make myself get rid of but, in the year we have lived in this house, they have sat collecting dust, giving refuge to spiders or just holding the floor down.

Yet, as I sit here and type, I could ignore the facts and allow myself to believe I need much more. I could feed the beast that eats contentment and gratitude for breakfast and walk out the door unhappy because I am convinced that some more things and more money would solve all my problems.

I have to be guarding myself against letting the greed and envy monster creep in and take over my life. He doesn’t always take on the form of a thief or bully but as a sickly little liar that convinces people he must be constantly fed and kept alive.

Matthew 6:19 “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. 21 Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.”

I need to always remember, God is providing. The things he gives me here on planet earth are temporary but what I do for him in the kingdom lasts forever and ever. I don’t know what that bank account will look like but I get the feeling overdrafts will be a thing of the past.

Leave a Reply

