I’ve spent an awful lot of my life being hurt. Not the kind of hurt that makes me run crying to my room and locking myself inside to sob my day away, but the kind of hurt that made me swing wildly at anything that got too close. I couldn’t be comforted because I was insulating myself from the risk of any more hurt.

I figured if I was a buzz saw of anger, imminent danger would be deflected. In some ways that worked, but I also deflected love, friendship, trust, loyalty and a host of other wonderful things life has to offer those that lay down their weapons and open their arms can experience.

I held grudges against a whole list of people. I could name a few names of people that I harbored a whole lot of ill-feelings toward for decades of my life. I missed out on their friendship and I wasted a lot of time turning my hurt over a single event into hate that lasted year after year. I missed out on friendship.  They missed out on having to put up with me.

I think those people got the better end of that deal.

I have to resolve to do a couple things about hurt. One, is to disallow hurt to invade my life based on trivial things. I need to constantly remind myself that if I am offended by a meaningless action, the problem doesn’t lie in the person on the other end of it but the problem lies inside me. That little voice in my head telling me to get all torqued up about some little nothing of a situation IS NOT GOD!!!

The other thing I have to resolve to do is to admit my hurt, disarm anger and confide in a friend. I can’t just tell him I am angry and want to punch an idiot in the nose. I have to get real and tell him what is making me angry. The Bible says to confess to each other, pray and be healed. I’ve ignored these instructions far too often in the past and lived with pain that God did not want me to carry around.

I still have a lot of work to do in this area of my life. I was given a chance to vent my anger on a person that may well have deserved it. Instead, I talked to friends about it and now we are laughing about the actions of the guy instead of me doing something stupid that I would have been ashamed of.

Life can always be lived better than I am currently willing to live it. Dealing with pain right away helps me avoid a lot of the other unhealthy ways I have used to avoid it in the past.

Colossians 3:13 Make allowance for each others faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. 14 Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. 15 And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful.

2 thoughts on “I Can Reduce My Hurt

Leave a Reply

