Yesterday, I met the new pastor at my church. He seems like a great guy. He likes to go fishing.

I felt like everyone was asking themselves, “Can this guy cut it?” Seems like a good question. I’ve seen a lot of guys over the years that couldn’t handle being a pastor. I’ve seen men and women with big dreams for a church ride away into the sunset as their dreams were being flushed down the drain.

Ephesians 4:11 Now these are the gifts Christ gave to the church: the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, and the pastors and teachers. 12 Their responsibility is to equip God’s people to do his work and build up the church, the body of Christ. 13 This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ.

I’ve always read this scripture only from the point of view of a pastor or teacher. It points out responsibility to equip the rest of the church. But the rest of the church is to be equipped and build the church up.

I’ve tended to look at a church that grows and think, “They must have a good pastor.” But just because a church is sitting there idling doesn’t mean they haven’t been equipped for performance. A group of people can be given great instruction and encouragement to put those things into practice and still remain motionless.

If I want my new pastor to succeed, I need to be in motion and allow him to help my motion be in the right direction. No one can lead someone with their butt firmly planted in a chair anywhere. I think that sometimes I think I am being led merely because I have turned my head in the right direction and see things from the right perspective but I choose to not move and then start wondering why all these other things seem to be just as fulfilling as my boring Christian life.

I have to do more than look where I should be going, I need to get up and go!

No pastor can come into my church and drag us all kicking and screaming down the right path.

I need to be in motion, encouraging others to come along. I need to be equipped and be ready to use that equipment. I’ve got a baseball glove in the closet somewhere. I’m ready to play some ball but I’m not going to make any game-winning catches sitting on my sofa watching someone else hit the field.

I want Gary to be successful. The only way that can happen is that once he does what he is called to do, the rest of the church does what they are called to do.

Leave a Reply

