When I was just a little guy. before Sunday School we would get the kids all together and sing some songs.  Reba Lamb would ask us what we wanted to sing and I would always pipe in “Yankee Doodle”!  I was amazed by how hilarious I was.  I am sure Reba was too but she never showed it.  She pretended to be mildly annoyed and asked someone else what we should sing.  She always seemed to like their answer better.  Before we would go to class, the last song we would sing was always the same one.
Come into my heart, come into my heart, come into my heart Lord Jesus.  Come in today, come in to stay, come into my heart Lord Jesus.
That song has stuck in my head all these years.  It was my first clue to what my relationship with God was all about.  Pretty simple, huh?  Unfortunately I spent a lifetime complicating it and making it hard to understand.  I would try to change it all around to fit my selfish desires and my resistance to doing those simple but demanding things God asks of me.  God commands me to love others but I limit the list to what I think God means when he says ‘others’.  God asks me to do good works and I decide what works I will do and what ones I won’t.  God pleads with me to make my life a living sacrifice and I only let go of the junk I think I won’t need anymore.  God says I am new creation and the old man I once was is dead but I let the new me starve and feed the corpse.  How could I wonder why I lost my zeal and joy in being a Christian?
I have since had to go back to that song, the simple and earnest words that brought me so close to God.  I have had to look at myself and become willing to do what God says, the way He says it.  It is a lot easier really.  It just seems like letting go of ourselves is hard.  It is a lie I easily believed.  The truth is that my life has become wonderfully uncomplicated by making my love for God and others unconditional.  I am free from my own rules to be the kind of man God desires.  Of course, every day I find an old rule laying around and I vow to promptly break it.  I have always been kind of a rebel, so that sort of makes me happy.
Galatians 5:13 For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love.
Okey dokey.  I’m gonna break a lot of rules living this one!
Leave a Reply

